Value Line is a comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks in 97 industries, the stock market and the economy. Unique features include providing a beta figure and timeliness ranking for each stock. To access Value Line use the use the A to Z list of databases at http://www.library.gatech.edu/search/databases.php
Archive for the 'Databases' Category
Value Line now online!
Friday, February 22nd, 2008The Library now offers Georgia Tech faculty, staff, and students access to the Cognet database provided by MIT
Thursday, February 21st, 2008“Developed by The MIT Press, MIT CogNet is an online location for the brain and cognitive science community scientific research and interchange. Since breaking ground in 2000, MIT CogNet has become an essential resource for those interested in cutting-edge primary research across the range of fields concerned with understanding the nature of the human mind.”
To access Cognet, go to the Library’s top page, http://www.library.gatech.edu/. Under “search and find” click on “articles (databases)”. At that point, you can either click on “c” in the alphabetical list and scroll down to “Cognet”, or choose to browse databases by subject and choose “Psychology and Cognitive Science Resources”, and then choose Cognet.
Web of Science has a new “look”!
Monday, February 4th, 2008The next time you access ISI Web of Knowledge, you’ll find more power, easier access and new options. The Web of Science has launched its new user-friendly interface!
The Web of Science provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.
EBSCOhost databases working again
Thursday, January 24th, 2008UPDATE 4:38 pm:
Dear GALILEO Users,
EBSCO databases are accessible again. EBSCO has reported that power has been restored to their ISP’s server room and all EBSCO databases are now accessible.
Thanks for your patience while this problem was worked out.
-KatieÂ
2:38 pm: The following is the latest from EBSCO:
Power Outage Issue traced back to 1 Summer Street Boston. Address has
major internet connections and as a result of subsequent alternate
routing, some customers may still be experiencing connection issues to
EBSCOhost Services. We are working with our ISPs as a top priority to
resolve.
————
Due to a power outage at EBSCO, EBSCOhost databases are either unavailable or very slow in response. We’ll post an update when there is more info. about this.
_________________
Dear GALILEO Users,
It seems that a major power outage in Ipswich, Mass. has caused a disruption in EBSCOhost’s internet connectivity. For the short term, slow access to EBSCOhost databases is expected.
If you have any questions or need more information, please use GALILEO’s Contact Us feature or contact OIIT Customer Services at helpdesk@usg.edu.
GALILEO announcements and status updates are available at http://www.usg.edu/galileo/status/. Information about the GALILEO mailing list is available at http://www.usg.edu/galileo/about/news/list.phtml
Please encourage others at your institution to subscribe.
Regards,
Dave
____________________________________________________
Dave Falke
GALILEO Support Services
Library Services
Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia
Research with Pizzaz: Library Databases
Thursday, January 17th, 2008Did you know the Library has over 270 databases that help identify the best research resources? Unlike search engines that perform a general search of the web, these databases are quality-controlled so that their results are reputable and timely. It is also a good idea to verify information in more than one source. Encyclopedias, for example, give a great overview of a topic but are not considered scholarly sources. This is especially true of Wikipedia which can be edited by almost anyone. Ask a librarian to help you identify the highest quality research resources in your field.
Compendex - for your engineering research needs!
Wednesday, January 16th, 2008For more than 37 years (1969-present) engineering researchers, students, faculty and professionals have come to rely on the Compendex® database. With over 10 million records from more than 5,600 scholarly journals, trade magazines and conference proceedings, Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary literature database available to engineers.
Compendex provides you with:
- A vital resource for current awareness, new product information, technological forecasting and competitive intelligence
- An online thesaurus to access more relevant sets of records, thus improving search results
- The most relevant journal articles, conference papers and other documents
- Over 120 years of engineering literature coverage when combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884 - present)
Animation in the ACM Digital Library database
Wednesday, January 16th, 2008Several of the Library’s over 240 databases are good sources for articles on animation. ACM Digital Library is one for your consideration. It offers the full text of articles from ACM’s journals, newsletters, articles, and conference proceedings. ACM, or the Association for Computing Machinery, is the top professional organization in the Computer Science field. Animators might particularly be interested in articles from the journal ACM SIGGRAPH Computer Graphics. SIGGRAPH is the ACM Special Interest Group on Computer Graphics and Interactive Techniques.
ProQuest database outage, 12/15/07
Thursday, December 13th, 2007Please see below for information about this weekend’s ProQuest database outage.
—
Dear GALILEO users,
ProQuest has scheduled a twelve-hour system maintenance window beginning Saturday, December 15, 2007, at 10:00 PM to Sunday, December 16, 2007 at 10:00 AM. During this maintenance window, access to ProQuest databases available through GALILEO will be unavailable. These include:
-ProQuest Platform
(ABI INFORM, Research Library, ProQuest Newspapers, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses or Dissertation Abstracts, ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health, and Hoover’s Company Capsules)
-SIRS Platform
(SIRS Researcher and Discoverer, Discoverer WebFind, SKS WebSelect, and SIRS Interactive Citizenship)
-Chadwyck-Healy Platform
(African American Biographical Database, African American Poetry 1760-1900, American Poetry 1 and 2, Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, Archives USA, The Bible in English, English Poetry 600-1900, LION [Literature Online], Literature Online Reference Edition)
ProQuest has scheduled this maintenance to install enhancements to their interfaces and products, which are described in the announcement from ProQuest below.
If you have any questions or need more information, please use GALILEO’s Contact Us feature or contact OIIT Customer Services at helpdesk@usg.edu.
Karen Minton
GALILEO Support ServicesÂ
————– ANNOUNCEMENT —————
Dear ProQuest Customer,
The next ProQuest platform enhancement release will be on December 15, 2007. A twelve (12) hour maintenance window will take place to install these exciting new enhancements. The window will begin Saturday, December 15, 2007, at 22:00 EDT to Sunday, December 16, 2007 at 10:00 EDT. See below for a more complete list of times and time zones.
Enhancements include:
* ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Multimedia Support release—ProQuest has seen an increase in dissertations and theses that include supplementary digital materials - audio, video, spreadsheets, etc. To properly support scholarly access to these materials, ProQuest is now making them available online in the Full Text version of the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) database.
* ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source Study Paths—Study Paths allows a user to quickly view full text articles recommended by a board of experienced nurse educators on topics relevant to their curriculum. This exciting new enhancement makes it easier for users to complete their assignments, research a topic, or prepare for examinations. A new splash page will appear when users log into the product. The Study Paths feature is for the ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source database only and does not impact other ProQuest products.
The following products will be unavailable during this window:
* ProQuest interface products, ProQuest Historical Newspapers (traditional and graphical K12 interface), American Periodicals Series
* Third-party databases such as ERIC® PlusText
* ProQuest Archiverâ„¢
* eLibrary®, SIRS®, and CultureGrams™
* Chadwyck-Healey products housed in the US (all products with domain names ending with chadwyck.com)
* “Digital Vault” products, including ProQuest Dissertations & Theses and Digital Sanborn Maps
We welcome customer feedback. Please email your comments to platform feedback or visit www.proquest.com/suggestions.
Thank you for continuing to support ProQuest and the products we provide.
Referex Engineering - reference database
Monday, November 12th, 2007A specialized electronic reference database, Referex Engineering draws on hundreds of premium engineering books to serve as a pool of answers to your reference questions. Referex Engineering is comprised of six editorially crafted collections of professionally focused e-books which bring together key sources of reference material. Referex is fully searchable and instantly delivers Full-text content of over 1,600 e-book titles.
Each collection includes:
-Handbooks of engineering fundamentals
-Situational reference
-Titles focused on technique and practice
-“How to†guides
-Highly specialized professional information
Update: AIAA Electronic Library Problems
Tuesday, November 6th, 2007The AIAA access problem has been resolved.
—
Please see the message below from AIAA. This may be affecting access to AIAA journals.
———
Users who search and attempt to download journal articles are receiving an error message. Our IT Department is working on this problem now, and I will notify you when the fix is made. Sorry for the inconvenience. Regards,
– Dug Greevy
Business Development-Electronic Information
American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics (AIAA)


