<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>Georgia Tech Library News &#187; Databases</title>
	<atom:link href="http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/category/databases/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news</link>
	<description></description>
	<lastBuildDate>Wed, 28 Oct 2009 13:15:23 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.8.4</generator>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
			<item>
		<title>New Database: SourceOECD Science &amp; Technology</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/09/02/new-database-sourceoecd-science-technology/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/09/02/new-database-sourceoecd-science-technology/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 02 Sep 2009 15:22:44 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>gleach</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Announcements]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/?p=336</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[SourceOECD Science and Technology Databases, a key data resource for science and technology policy studies, is now available and listed on the A-Z List of Databases.  The School of Public Policy purchased a one-year subscription to this resource, and they are sharing access with the campus.  The Library is collaborating with the School [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>SourceOECD Science and Technology Databases, a key data resource for science and technology policy studies, is now available and listed on the <a href="http://gtsearch.library.gatech.edu/search/databases/alphabetical">A-Z List of Databases</a>.  The School of Public Policy purchased a one-year subscription to this resource, and they are sharing access with the campus.  The Library is collaborating with the School of Public Policy and making the resource available to Georgia Tech faculty and students.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/09/02/new-database-sourceoecd-science-technology/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>What is GT CrossSearch? How will it help me?</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/08/31/what-is-gt-crosssearch-how-will-it-help-me/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/08/31/what-is-gt-crosssearch-how-will-it-help-me/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 31 Aug 2009 15:10:53 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>lcritz</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Announcements]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/?p=330</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[GT CrossSearch enables you to search several databases at one time, making searching for articles easier and faster. GT CrossSearch allows you to locate articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and encyclopedias &#8211; as well as conference proceedings and technical reports &#8211; with a single search.  For more information, see What is GT CrossSearch? 
]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>GT CrossSearch enables you to search several databases at one time, making searching for articles easier and faster. GT CrossSearch allows you to locate articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and encyclopedias &#8211; as well as conference proceedings and technical reports &#8211; with a single search.  For more information, see <a href="http://www.library.gatech.edu/search/crosssearch.php">What is GT CrossSearch? </a></p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/08/31/what-is-gt-crosssearch-how-will-it-help-me/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Free Springer eBook access through April 30th</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/03/10/free-springer-ebook-access-through-april-30th/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/03/10/free-springer-ebook-access-through-april-30th/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 10 Mar 2009 16:32:07 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>gleach</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Announcements]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/?p=260</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Between Friday, March 6th and Thursday, April 30th, Georgia Institute of Technology has free access to thousands of Springer English-language eBook titles. These titles are divided into thirteen subject collections: Architecture, Design &#38; Arts; Behavioral Sciences; Biomedical &#38; Life Sciences; Business &#38; Economics; Chemistry &#38; Material Science; Computer Science; Earth &#38; Environmental Science; Engineering; Humanities, [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Between Friday, March 6th and Thursday, April 30th, Georgia Institute of Technology has free access to thousands of Springer English-language eBook titles. These titles are divided into thirteen subject collections: Architecture, Design &amp; Arts; Behavioral Sciences; Biomedical &amp; Life Sciences; Business &amp; Economics; Chemistry &amp; Material Science; Computer Science; Earth &amp; Environmental Science; Engineering; Humanities, Social Sciences &amp; Law; Mathematics; Medicine; Physics &amp; Astronomy; and Professional &amp; Applied Computing.</p>
<p><strong><a href="http://www.library.gatech.edu:2048/login?url=http://springerlink.com/books/?db=20050101&amp;de=20090204&amp;sort=p_OnlineDate&amp;sortorder=desc&amp;Language=English">View Springer eBooks</a></strong></a> and take advantage of this free trial.</p>
<p>To search these Springer eBook titles as well as Springer eBook titles we already subscribe to, search Springerlink on the <a href="http://www.library.gatech.edu/search/databases.php?/dbs/S">A to Z List of Databases</a>.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/03/10/free-springer-ebook-access-through-april-30th/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Trial: NTRL &#8211; National Technical Reports Library</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/01/29/trial-ntrl-national-technical-reports-library/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/01/29/trial-ntrl-national-technical-reports-library/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 29 Jan 2009 15:45:58 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>gleach</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Announcements]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/?p=250</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[A trial for the NTRL: National Technical Reports Library is now active through March 31 and is made available to the public. The NTRL offers access to the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports acquired, indexed, abstracted, and archived by the National Technical Information Service.
NTRL is listed on the List of Databases or can [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>A trial for the NTRL: National Technical Reports Library is now active through March 31 and is made available to the public. The NTRL offers access to the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports acquired, indexed, abstracted, and archived by the National Technical Information Service.</p>
<p>NTRL is listed on the <a href="http://www.library.gatech.edu/search/databases.php?/dbs/N">List of Databases</a> or can be accessed directly at: <a href="https://ntrl.ntis.gov/">https://ntrl.ntis.gov/</a></p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/01/29/trial-ntrl-national-technical-reports-library/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>EBSCOhost database maintenance this weekend, 1/31/09-2/1/09</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/01/28/ebscohost-database-maintenance-this-weekend-13109-2109/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/01/28/ebscohost-database-maintenance-this-weekend-13109-2109/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 28 Jan 2009 21:21:23 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Elizabeth Winter</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Announcements]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[System Status & Alerts]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/?p=246</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[The message below doesn&#8217;t say which EBSCOhost databases will be affected, so I assume it&#8217;s possible that any of them could be.  Please be aware that you may experience some access problems or slowness on EBSCOhost databases this weekend, 1/31/09 and 2/1/09.
&#8212;&#8211; Forwarded Message &#8212;&#8211;
From: &#8220;EBSCO Publishing &#60;epaes@epnet.com&#62;&#8221;
Sent: Wednesday, January 28, 2009 1:57:57 PM GMT [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The message below doesn&#8217;t say which EBSCOhost databases will be affected, so I assume it&#8217;s possible that any of them could be.  Please be aware that you may experience some access problems or slowness on EBSCOhost databases this weekend, 1/31/09 and 2/1/09.</p>
<p>&#8212;&#8211; Forwarded Message &#8212;&#8211;<br />
From: &#8220;EBSCO Publishing &lt;epaes@epnet.com&gt;&#8221;<br />
Sent: Wednesday, January 28, 2009 1:57:57 PM GMT -05:00 US/Canada Eastern<br />
Subject: System Maintenance Planned</p>
<p>Dear EBSCO Customer,</p>
<p>Please be advised that this weekend, from January 31 through February 1, 2009, you may notice some intermittent access interruption, due to planned system maintenance.</p>
<p>We are conducting this necessary system maintenance during off-peak hours in order to minimize the impact it will have on our customers, and apologize in advance for any inconvenience this may cause.</p>
<p>Visit EBSCO&#8217;&#8217;s Support Site (http://support.ebscohost.com) to learn about new features, search among thousands of FAQs, download Flash tutorials, Help Sheets or User Guides, or communicate with Technical Support at any time, using the EBSCO Support Form (http://support.ebscohost.com/contact/askus.php).</p>
<p>Sincerely,</p>
<p>Marcie Brown<br />
Technical Communications Manager<br />
EBSCO Publishing</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/01/28/ebscohost-database-maintenance-this-weekend-13109-2109/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Separate Presidential Fact from Box-Office Drama</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/01/20/separate-presidential-fact-from-box-office-drama/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/01/20/separate-presidential-fact-from-box-office-drama/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 20 Jan 2009 21:54:05 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>lcritz</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[database]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/?p=236</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[What does history say?  Check out America History &#38; Life, the premier database for U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory forward. With over 1,700 journals (including selected local history journals) indexed from 1964 to the present, this database is an important reference tool for students and scholars.  Coverage includes an international perspective on [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>What does history say?  Check out America History &amp; Life, the premier database for U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory forward. With over 1,700 journals (including selected local history journals) indexed from 1964 to the present, this database is an important reference tool for students and scholars.  Coverage includes an international perspective on topics and events.  For world history coverage, also check out the Historical Abstracts database.   <a href="http://www.library.gatech.edu/search/databases.php?/db/1113">America History &amp; Life</a></p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/01/20/separate-presidential-fact-from-box-office-drama/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>SciFinder Scholar client changes</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/01/14/scifinder-scholar-client-changes/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/01/14/scifinder-scholar-client-changes/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 14 Jan 2009 18:10:31 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>gleach</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Announcements]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/?p=227</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[On January 30, 2009, CAS will discontinue the following version of the SciFinder Scholar clients:
    *  SciFinder Scholar 2006 for Microsoft Windows
    *  SciFinder Scholar 2006 for MAC OS X
If you are using either of these clients, please download the appropriate SciFinder 2007 client or try the [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>On January 30, 2009, CAS will discontinue the following version of the SciFinder Scholar clients:</p>
<p>    *  SciFinder Scholar 2006 for Microsoft Windows<br />
    *  SciFinder Scholar 2006 for MAC OS X</p>
<p>If you are using either of these clients, please download the appropriate SciFinder 2007 client or try the web version.  Instructions for downloading the SciFinder 2007 clients and for registering and accessing SciFinder web are available from the following url:  <a href="http://www.library.gatech.edu/sfs/sfs.php">http://www.library.gatech.edu/sfs/sfs.php</a></p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2009/01/14/scifinder-scholar-client-changes/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Access to Selected CSA Databases Ends 10/31/08</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/10/24/access-to-selected-csa-databases-ends-103108/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/10/24/access-to-selected-csa-databases-ends-103108/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 24 Oct 2008 19:37:28 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>gleach</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Announcements]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/?p=194</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Due to state budget cuts, access to the following Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) databases will be discontinued on 10/31/08.  These databases were jointly funded by GALILEO and the Georgia Tech Library and Information Center. GALILEO is no longer providing support for purchasing the following databases and the Library is not able to continue to [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Due to state budget cuts, access to the following Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) databases will be discontinued on 10/31/08.  These databases were jointly funded by GALILEO and the Georgia Tech Library and Information Center. GALILEO is no longer providing support for purchasing the following databases and the Library is not able to continue to fund access without GALILEO&#8217;s contribution:</p>
<p>AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts, Animal Behavior Abstracts, ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts, Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Biological Sciences Set, Biology Digest, Biotechnology and BioEngineering Abstracts, Biotechnology Research Abstracts, Calcium and Calcified Tissues Abstracts, Chemoreception Abstracts, Computer and Information Systems Abstracts, Conference Papers Index, Ecology Abstracts, EIS Digests of Environmental Impact Statements, Electronics and Communications Abstracts, Entomology Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Set, Genetics Abstracts, Health and Safety Sciences Abstracts, Human Genome Abstracts, Immunology Abstracts, Mechanical Engineering Abstracts, Neuroscience Abstracts, Nucleic Acids Abstracts, Oceanic Abstracts, Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts, Physical Education Index, Plant Science, Pollution Abstracts, Risk Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts, Toxicology Abstracts, TOXLINE, Virology and AIDS Abstracts, Water Resources Abstracts  </p>
<p>These databases will remain on the <a href="http://www.library.gatech.edu/search/databases.php">List of Databases</a> with suggestions for alternative resources.  For additional suggestions please contact your <a href="http://www.library.gatech.edu/services/subject_librarians.php">subject librarian</a>.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/10/24/access-to-selected-csa-databases-ends-103108/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>New Database: Shock &amp; Vibration Digest</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/09/11/new-database-shock-vibration-digest/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/09/11/new-database-shock-vibration-digest/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 11 Sep 2008 18:43:10 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>gleach</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Announcements]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[New Resources]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/?p=190</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Shock &#38; Vibration Digest covers essential areas related to shock and vibration, including noise, vibration technologies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 100,000 records, which are selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Journal of Sound and Vibration, Journal of Vibration &#38; Control, etc.
To access [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Shock &amp; Vibration Digest covers essential areas related to shock and vibration, including noise, vibration technologies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 100,000 records, which are selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: <em>Journal of Sound and Vibration,</em> <em>Journal of Vibration &amp; Control</em>, etc.</p>
<p>To access this database use the A to Z list of databases on the <a href="http://www.library.gatech.edu/search/databases.php">Find Articles</a> page.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/09/11/new-database-shock-vibration-digest/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>New Database: Urban Studies Abstracts</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/09/11/new-database-urban-studies-abstracts/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/09/11/new-database-urban-studies-abstracts/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 11 Sep 2008 18:32:26 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>gleach</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Announcements]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[New Resources]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/?p=189</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[For information on urban affairs, community development, urban history or other areas of urban studies take a look at Urban Studies Abstracts.  Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Journal of Urban Affairs, Urban Studies, and Canadian Journal of Urban Research. 
To access this database use the A [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>For information on urban affairs, community development, urban history or other areas of urban studies take a look at Urban Studies Abstracts.  Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including <em>Journal of Urban Affairs</em>, <em>Urban Studies</em>, and <em>Canadian Journal of Urban Research</em>. </p>
<p>To access this database use the A to Z list of databases on the <a href="http://www.library.gatech.edu/search/databases.php">Find Articles</a> page.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/09/11/new-database-urban-studies-abstracts/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>9/5/08 RESOLVED: Problems with Elsevier ScienceDirect</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/09/04/problems-with-elsevier-sciencedirect/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/09/04/problems-with-elsevier-sciencedirect/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 04 Sep 2008 21:30:55 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Elizabeth Winter</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Announcements]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[East Commons]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Events]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[New Services]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[System Status & Alerts]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Tuesday Talks]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[eJournals]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/?p=185</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[9/5/08, 4:50 pm: 
The ScienceDirect problems finally have been resolved.  You should no longer be asked to choose an organization and should have access to all GT-entitled journals. 

Important: Please clear your browser&#8217;s cache and try again if you are still having problems.

More info.:  We&#8217;re still working with Elsevier to resolve the problem. [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><strong>9/5/08, 4:50 pm: </strong></p>
<p><strong>The ScienceDirect problems finally have been resolved.  You should no longer be asked to choose an organization and should have access to all GT-entitled journals. </strong></p>
<p><strong><br />
Important: Please clear your browser&#8217;s cache and try again if you are still having problems.</strong></p>
<p><span id="more-185"></span></p>
<p>More info.:  We&#8217;re still working with Elsevier to resolve the problem.  IN the meantime, you need to choose the GETSM option (the first radio button), NOT the GALILEO option, in order to get to fulltext.  If you&#8217;re not able to access fulltext, you need to completely close your browser session and start over, choosing the GETSM (first) option when prompted.</p>
<p>Thanks for your patience while we await resolution from Elsevier.</p>
<p>&#8212;</p>
<p>There appears to be a problem with Elsevier&#8217;s ScienceDirect this morning.  For some reason it asks you to choose an organization when first attempting to access a journal.  If you choose the first option (the GETSM option, not GALILEO) you should be able to access all GT Library subscriptions.  For now, please try that while we continue to troubleshoot.</p>
<p>An update will be posted when we know more.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/09/04/problems-with-elsevier-sciencedirect/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>UPDATE: ProQuest Back Up (was: ProQuest Temporarily Unavailable)</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/07/17/proquest-temporarily-unavailable/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/07/17/proquest-temporarily-unavailable/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 17 Jul 2008 15:47:40 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Elizabeth Winter</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Announcements]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[System Status & Alerts]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/?p=181</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[UPDATE
&#8212;&#8211; Forwarded Message &#8212;&#8211;
From: &#8220;Katie Gohn&#8221; &#60;katie.gohn@usg.edu&#62;
To: &#8220;GALILEO Users&#8221; &#60;GALILEO@mailbox.gsu.edu&#62;
Sent: Thursday, July 17, 2008 12:53:37 PM GMT -05:00 US/Canada Eastern
Subject: [Galileo] Re: ProQuest Temporarily Unavailable
Good Afternoon,
The problems with ProQuest have been resolved. If you continue to
encounter problems, please submit a comment to GALILEO using the contact
us button.
Thanks,
Katie
&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8211;
From: &#8220;Katie Gohn&#8221; &#60;katie.gohn@usg.edu&#62;
To: &#8220;GALILEO Users&#8221; &#60;GALILEO@mailbox.gsu.edu&#62;
Sent: Thursday, July [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><strong>UPDATE</strong></p>
<p>&#8212;&#8211; Forwarded Message &#8212;&#8211;<br />
From: &#8220;Katie Gohn&#8221; &lt;katie.gohn@usg.edu&gt;<br />
To: &#8220;GALILEO Users&#8221; &lt;GALILEO@mailbox.gsu.edu&gt;<br />
Sent: Thursday, July 17, 2008 12:53:37 PM GMT -05:00 US/Canada Eastern<br />
Subject: [Galileo] Re: ProQuest Temporarily Unavailable</p>
<p>Good Afternoon,</p>
<p>The problems with ProQuest have been resolved. If you continue to<br />
encounter problems, please submit a comment to GALILEO using the contact<br />
us button.</p>
<p>Thanks,<br />
Katie</p>
<p>&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8211;</p>
<p>From: &#8220;Katie Gohn&#8221; &lt;katie.gohn@usg.edu&gt;<br />
To: &#8220;GALILEO Users&#8221; &lt;GALILEO@mailbox.gsu.edu&gt;<br />
Sent: Thursday, July 17, 2008 11:03:06 AM GMT -05:00 US/Canada Eastern<br />
Subject: [Galileo] ProQuest Temporarily Unavailable</p>
<p>-</p>
<p>Good Morning,</p>
<p>ProQuest databases are currently unavailable.  We have reported this<br />
issue to ProQuest and hope that the issue will be resolved ASAP.<br />
Further information about this problem will be posted to the list.</p>
<p>If you have any questions or need more information, please use GALILEO&#8217;s<br />
Contact Us feature or contact OIIT Customer Services at <span class="Object"><span class="Object">helpdesk@usg.edu</span></span>.</p>
<p>GALILEO announcements and status updates are available at:<br />
<span class="Object"><a href="http://www.usg.edu/galileo/status/" target="_blank">http://www.usg.edu/galileo/status/</a></span>.  Information about the GALILEO<br />
e-mail list is available at <span class="Object"><span class="Object"><a href="http://www.usg.edu/galileo/about/news/list.phtml" target="_blank">http://www.usg.edu/galileo/about/news/list.phtml</a></span></span></p>
<p>Please encourage others at your institution to subscribe.</p>
<p>Thanks,<br />
Katie<br />
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~<br />
Katie Gohn<br />
GALILEO Support Services<br />
Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia<br />
<span class="Object">2500 Daniells Bridge Road, Bldg. 300 Athens, GA 30606</span><br />
Phone: 1-888-875-3697<br />
<span class="Object">katie.gohn@usg.edu</span> | <span class="Object"><span class="Object"><a href="http://www.galileo.usg.edu/" target="_blank">http://www.galileo.usg.edu</a></span></span></p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/07/17/proquest-temporarily-unavailable/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Grove Art Online now Oxford Art Online</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/07/09/grove-art-online-now-oxford-art-online/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/07/09/grove-art-online-now-oxford-art-online/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 09 Jul 2008 16:41:30 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>gleach</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Announcements]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/07/09/grove-art-online-now-oxford-art-online/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Grove Art Online is now Oxford Art Online.  Not only has the name changed but the database has a new look and feel.  If you go to the new site you will see that you are searching four reference sources: Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Grove Art Online is now Oxford Art Online.  Not only has the name changed but the database has a new look and feel.  If you go to the new site you will see that you are searching four reference sources: Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.  The interface makes it easy to search these sources individually or in combination with one another.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/07/09/grove-art-online-now-oxford-art-online/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Increased coverage for Applied Science and Technology Abstracts and for Wilson Business Abstracts</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/07/07/increased-coverage-for-applied-science-and-technology-abstracts-and-for-wilson-business-abstracts/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/07/07/increased-coverage-for-applied-science-and-technology-abstracts-and-for-wilson-business-abstracts/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 07 Jul 2008 19:01:37 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>gleach</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Announcements]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/07/07/increased-coverage-for-applied-science-and-technology-abstracts-and-for-wilson-business-abstracts/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Both Applied Science and Technology Abstracts and Wilson Business Abstracts now provide indexing back to 1913.  The increase provides access to articles on the most important events, issues and trends in the history of business and industry (including the complete file of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957).  
To access either of these databases use [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Both Applied Science and Technology Abstracts and Wilson Business Abstracts now provide indexing back to 1913.  The increase provides access to articles on the most important events, issues and trends in the history of business and industry (including the complete file of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957).  </p>
<p>To access either of these databases use the A to Z list of databases at <a href="http://www.library.gatech.edu/search/databases.php">http://www.library.gatech.edu/search/databases.php</a></p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/07/07/increased-coverage-for-applied-science-and-technology-abstracts-and-for-wilson-business-abstracts/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>New Database: Literature Criticism Online</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/07/07/new-database-literature-criticism-online/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/07/07/new-database-literature-criticism-online/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 07 Jul 2008 18:58:03 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>gleach</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Announcements]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[New Resources]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/07/07/new-database-literature-criticism-online/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[The library now subscribes to Literature Criticism Online which provides access to Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC), and Short Story Criticism (SSC). This outstanding reference literature database offers biographical and bibliographical information on over 3,000 20th century and contemporary literary figures (novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and literary theorists), as well [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The library now subscribes to Literature Criticism Online which provides access to Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC), and Short Story Criticism (SSC). This outstanding reference literature database offers biographical and bibliographical information on over 3,000 20th century and contemporary literary figures (novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and literary theorists), as well as scholarly and popular commentary and criticism from books, journals, magazines, broadsheets, pamphlets, diaries, and newspapers. </p>
<p>To access Literature Criticism Online use the A to Z list of databases at <a href="http://www.library.gatech.edu/search/databases.php">http://www.library.gatech.edu/search/databases.php</a></p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/07/07/new-database-literature-criticism-online/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>FindIt button in PubMed (FireFox users)</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/03/24/findit-button-in-pubmed-firefox-users/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/03/24/findit-button-in-pubmed-firefox-users/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 24 Mar 2008 19:56:02 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Elizabeth Winter</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Announcements]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[System Status & Alerts]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/03/24/findit-button-in-pubmed-firefox-users/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Update, 4/4/08:  This problem has now been resolved.
&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;-
There is a problem with the FindIt button in PubMed (NCBI) database  records when using the Firefox browser (the button does not appear to be  clickable).
This is a known issue at NCBI and is affecting other institutions using  SFX.
Two temporary solutions until the problem is [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Update, 4/4/08:  This problem has now been resolved.</p>
<p>&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;-</p>
<p>There is a problem with the FindIt button in PubMed (NCBI) database  records when using the Firefox browser (the button does not appear to be  clickable).</p>
<p>This is a known issue at NCBI and is affecting other institutions using  SFX.</p>
<p>Two temporary solutions until the problem is fixed are:<br />
1) Click the very top of the button image (this area <strong>*is*</strong> clickable)<br />
2) Use IE.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/03/24/findit-button-in-pubmed-firefox-users/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Corp Tech -now available &#8211; with online access to business directory information</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/03/09/corp-tech-now-available-with-online-access-to-business-directory-information/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/03/09/corp-tech-now-available-with-online-access-to-business-directory-information/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 20:12:36 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>lcritz</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[New Resources]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/03/09/corp-tech-now-available-with-online-access-to-business-directory-information/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Corp Tech is an online directory of 100,000 high-tech companies and their key executives. There are 17 primary industry groups (biotechnology, defense, energy, environmental, photonics, etc.), plus many detailed “product codes”. Exclusives include searching by female or minority ownership, government contractor status, and source of capital. Also searchable by SIC and NAICS codes, plus standard [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Corp Tech is an online directory of 100,000 high-tech companies and their key executives. There are 17 primary industry groups (biotechnology, defense, energy, environmental, photonics, etc.), plus many detailed “product codes”. Exclusives include searching by female or minority ownership, government contractor status, and source of capital. Also searchable by SIC and NAICS codes, plus standard geographical variables.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/03/09/corp-tech-now-available-with-online-access-to-business-directory-information/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>SciFinder Now Available via the Web!</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/03/06/scifinder-now-available-via-the-web/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/03/06/scifinder-now-available-via-the-web/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 06 Mar 2008 13:21:25 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Heather Jeffcoat</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Announcements]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[New Resources]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/03/06/scifinder-now-available-via-the-web/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Georgia Tech is one of about 10 universities participating in a soft rollout of SciFinder on the web.  For the first month or two, our number of seats will be increased to encourage everyone to try the web version.
Please note the following about the web version of SciFinder:

Everyone must register and create a user [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Georgia Tech is one of about 10 universities participating in a soft rollout of SciFinder on the web.  For the first month or two, our number of seats will be increased to encourage everyone to try the web version.</p>
<p>Please note the following about the web version of SciFinder:</p>
<ul>
<li>Everyone must register and create a user name and password.</li>
<li>Windows computers require a Java plug-in to perform structure searches.</li>
<li>Mac computers can search the web version with the exception of structure searching.  A structure searching solution for Mac is in the works.</li>
<li>Remote, off-campus access is available for the web version!</li>
</ul>
<p>To register and begin searching, please go to the following web page: <a href="https://www.library.gatech.edu/sfs/sfs.php">https://www.library.gatech.edu/sfs/sfs.php</a></p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/03/06/scifinder-now-available-via-the-web/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Value Line now online!</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/02/22/value-line-now-online/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/02/22/value-line-now-online/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 22 Feb 2008 17:11:01 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>lcritz</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[New Resources]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/02/22/value-line-now-online/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Value Line is a comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks in 97 industries, the stock market and the economy. Unique features include providing a beta figure and timeliness ranking for each stock.  To access Value Line use the use the A to Z list of databases at http://www.library.gatech.edu/search/databases.php 
]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Value Line is a comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks in 97 industries, the stock market and the economy. Unique features include providing a beta figure and timeliness ranking for each stock.  To access Value Line use the use the A to Z list of databases at <a href="http://www.library.gatech.edu/search/databases.php">http://www.library.gatech.edu/search/databases.php</a> </p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/02/22/value-line-now-online/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>The Library now offers Georgia Tech faculty, staff, and students access to the Cognet database provided by MIT</title>
		<link>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/02/21/the-library-now-offers-georgia-tech-faculty-staff-and-students-access-to-the-cognet-database-provided-by-mit/</link>
		<comments>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/02/21/the-library-now-offers-georgia-tech-faculty-staff-and-students-access-to-the-cognet-database-provided-by-mit/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 21 Feb 2008 19:00:52 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>lcritz</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/02/21/the-library-now-offers-georgia-tech-faculty-staff-and-students-access-to-the-cognet-database-provided-by-mit/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[&#8220;Developed by The MIT Press, MIT CogNet is an online location for the brain and cognitive science community scientific research and interchange. Since breaking ground in 2000, MIT CogNet has become an essential resource for those interested in cutting-edge primary research across the range of fields concerned with understanding the nature of the human mind.&#8221;
To [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>&#8220;Developed by The MIT Press, MIT CogNet is an online location for the brain and cognitive science community scientific research and interchange. Since breaking ground in 2000, MIT CogNet has become an essential resource for those interested in cutting-edge primary research across the range of fields concerned with understanding the nature of the human mind.&#8221;</p>
<p>To access Cognet, go to the Library&#8217;s top page, http://www.library.gatech.edu/.  Under &#8220;search and find&#8221; click on &#8220;articles (databases)&#8221;.  At that point, you can either click on &#8220;c&#8221; in the alphabetical list and scroll down to &#8220;Cognet&#8221;, or choose to browse databases by subject and choose &#8220;Psychology and Cognitive Science Resources&#8221;, and then choose Cognet.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://weblog.library.gatech.edu/news/2008/02/21/the-library-now-offers-georgia-tech-faculty-staff-and-students-access-to-the-cognet-database-provided-by-mit/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
