Link to Georgia Tech home pageLink to Library and Information Center home page

Georgia Tech Library News

Archive for the 'Databases' Category

UPDATE: ProQuest Back Up (was: ProQuest Temporarily Unavailable)

Thursday, July 17th, 2008

UPDATE

—– Forwarded Message —–
From: “Katie Gohn” <katie.gohn@usg.edu>
To: “GALILEO Users” <GALILEO@mailbox.gsu.edu>
Sent: Thursday, July 17, 2008 12:53:37 PM GMT -05:00 US/Canada Eastern
Subject: [Galileo] Re: ProQuest Temporarily Unavailable

Good Afternoon,

The problems with ProQuest have been resolved. If you continue to
encounter problems, please submit a comment to GALILEO using the contact
us button.

Thanks,
Katie

———–

From: “Katie Gohn” <katie.gohn@usg.edu>
To: “GALILEO Users” <GALILEO@mailbox.gsu.edu>
Sent: Thursday, July 17, 2008 11:03:06 AM GMT -05:00 US/Canada Eastern
Subject: [Galileo] ProQuest Temporarily Unavailable

-

Good Morning,

ProQuest databases are currently unavailable.  We have reported this
issue to ProQuest and hope that the issue will be resolved ASAP.
Further information about this problem will be posted to the list.

If you have any questions or need more information, please use GALILEO’s
Contact Us feature or contact OIIT Customer Services at helpdesk@usg.edu.

GALILEO announcements and status updates are available at:
http://www.usg.edu/galileo/status/.  Information about the GALILEO
e-mail list is available at http://www.usg.edu/galileo/about/news/list.phtml

Please encourage others at your institution to subscribe.

Thanks,
Katie
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Katie Gohn
GALILEO Support Services
Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia
2500 Daniells Bridge Road, Bldg. 300 Athens, GA 30606
Phone: 1-888-875-3697
katie.gohn@usg.edu | http://www.galileo.usg.edu

Grove Art Online now Oxford Art Online

Wednesday, July 9th, 2008

Grove Art Online is now Oxford Art Online. Not only has the name changed but the database has a new look and feel. If you go to the new site you will see that you are searching four reference sources: Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. The interface makes it easy to search these sources individually or in combination with one another.

Increased coverage for Applied Science and Technology Abstracts and for Wilson Business Abstracts

Monday, July 7th, 2008

Both Applied Science and Technology Abstracts and Wilson Business Abstracts now provide indexing back to 1913. The increase provides access to articles on the most important events, issues and trends in the history of business and industry (including the complete file of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957).

To access either of these databases use the A to Z list of databases at http://www.library.gatech.edu/search/databases.php

New Database: Literature Criticism Online

Monday, July 7th, 2008

The library now subscribes to Literature Criticism Online which provides access to Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC), and Short Story Criticism (SSC). This outstanding reference literature database offers biographical and bibliographical information on over 3,000 20th century and contemporary literary figures (novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and literary theorists), as well as scholarly and popular commentary and criticism from books, journals, magazines, broadsheets, pamphlets, diaries, and newspapers.

To access Literature Criticism Online use the A to Z list of databases at http://www.library.gatech.edu/search/databases.php

FindIt button in PubMed (FireFox users)

Monday, March 24th, 2008

Update, 4/4/08:  This problem has now been resolved.

——————————————————-

There is a problem with the FindIt button in PubMed (NCBI) database records when using the Firefox browser (the button does not appear to be clickable).

This is a known issue at NCBI and is affecting other institutions using SFX.

Two temporary solutions until the problem is fixed are:
1) Click the very top of the button image (this area *is* clickable)
2) Use IE.

Corp Tech -now available - with online access to business directory information

Sunday, March 9th, 2008

Corp Tech is an online directory of 100,000 high-tech companies and their key executives. There are 17 primary industry groups (biotechnology, defense, energy, environmental, photonics, etc.), plus many detailed “product codes”. Exclusives include searching by female or minority ownership, government contractor status, and source of capital. Also searchable by SIC and NAICS codes, plus standard geographical variables.

SciFinder Now Available via the Web!

Thursday, March 6th, 2008

Georgia Tech is one of about 10 universities participating in a soft rollout of SciFinder on the web. For the first month or two, our number of seats will be increased to encourage everyone to try the web version.

Please note the following about the web version of SciFinder:

  • Everyone must register and create a user name and password.
  • Windows computers require a Java plug-in to perform structure searches.
  • Mac computers can search the web version with the exception of structure searching. A structure searching solution for Mac is in the works.
  • Remote, off-campus access is available for the web version!

To register and begin searching, please go to the following web page: https://www.library.gatech.edu/sfs/sfs.php

Value Line now online!

Friday, February 22nd, 2008

Value Line is a comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks in 97 industries, the stock market and the economy. Unique features include providing a beta figure and timeliness ranking for each stock. To access Value Line use the use the A to Z list of databases at http://www.library.gatech.edu/search/databases.php

The Library now offers Georgia Tech faculty, staff, and students access to the Cognet database provided by MIT

Thursday, February 21st, 2008

“Developed by The MIT Press, MIT CogNet is an online location for the brain and cognitive science community scientific research and interchange. Since breaking ground in 2000, MIT CogNet has become an essential resource for those interested in cutting-edge primary research across the range of fields concerned with understanding the nature of the human mind.”

To access Cognet, go to the Library’s top page, http://www.library.gatech.edu/. Under “search and find” click on “articles (databases)”. At that point, you can either click on “c” in the alphabetical list and scroll down to “Cognet”, or choose to browse databases by subject and choose “Psychology and Cognitive Science Resources”, and then choose Cognet.

Web of Science has a new “look”!

Monday, February 4th, 2008

The next time you access ISI Web of Knowledge, you’ll find more power, easier access and new options. The Web of Science has launched its new user-friendly interface!

The Web of Science provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.